Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland By Lewis Carroll

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

By Lewis Carroll (aka Charles Lutwidge Dodgson)

alice

Summary

Alice, a young girl, finds herself in a strange world after falling down a rabbit hole. She experience a series of crazy events in Wonderland, through Alice we rediscover imagination as the author plays around with logic.

Feelings

I am aware of all the studies that has been done on the book over the years, with people trying to figure out where the idea came from etc, but I just wanted to read the book and come up with my own opinion, especially since this was my childhood favourite (and I got a sticker for re-writing it when I was probably age eight) and I have watched the animated version (sorry I cannot remember more details, especially since there are so many) and loved it, however Tim Burton’s interpretation was very disappointing, and after watching it (and not wanting to finish it) I thought I might as well read the book.

 

When I put the book down, I thought to myself ‘This is defiantly a weird book’. Not in a bad way, each scene nicely flowed; it was like walking into each chapter in Wonderland with Alice herself. Peculiar characters are introduced throughout the story, from a stripy cat, a baby pig and a sleepy dormouse; and then we meet a queen made from cards, and the mystical gryphon; each one brings you closer into what wonderland is about.

As well as being a writer, Lewis Carroll was also a mathematician and logician; and I felt that he defiantly plays around with logic. Each character Alice encounters seem to be talking nonsense, but after giving their words thought, often you find yourself trying to reason with their logic.

The book appears to be a series of events rather than a story. Although the ending was a ‘I woke up and it was all a dream’ style, which for some is annoying, we can all relate to when we wake up from dreams or even thoughts and fantasies which for a split second feel real. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking to give their mind a teaser.

About Piarve (84 Articles)
The business brains of Fashion Plugin, with a background in events and marketing and a love for forward thinking fashion, street art and red velvet cake.

Your thoughts here:

