Absent Mindedness: The Dreamers Definition

 

 

AAbsentMind

 

Have you ever been deep in thought and so out of this world that those around you ask themselves (and the braves ones come out publicly) Why are you so absent minded?

I have typed in absent minded on Google, surprise, surprise, it has been classed as a medical condition. There is not much positivity connected with being absent minded, the definition is:

A person shows inattentive or forgetful behaviour

 

Correct me if I am wrong but being in a state of thought and absent mindedness is not always the same thing, but is always so misunderstood. Check out this quote:

 

“I am not absentminded. It is the presence of mind that makes me unaware of everything else.”

G.K. Chesterton

 

I have had moments where something happens and I miss it, and a friend would pull me up on it and I would say ‘Oh I missed that’, and they know me, it must be another case of her absent mind, so they begin explaining (hand-me-down jokes are never as fresh). Then again:

Maybe I don’t find John falling off he’s chair amusing right now

Maybe there is more to my life than listening to Kacy’s weekly man troubles (by the way, this is man number five since the beginning of 2014)

Often this ‘zoning out for a while’ is translated to a blond moment, clumsiness or simply being distant. During those moments I probably have a million thoughts (ok, maybe a little over-exaggeration) zooming across my brain.

It just had me thinking, I often come up with great story ideas,  blog ideas and ‘What If’s’ during  those moments I appear blank to the world. For those who are dreamers and thinkers, perhaps you can relate, but I would agree with Chesterton, it’s just being aware of the presence of mind.

Isn’t it great to be able to enjoy your own company?

One last quote:

“I am amazingly absent; I believe I am the most absent creature in the world.”
― Jane Austen, Northanger Abbey

 

 

[All names used are made up- If you see your name it’s just a coincidence]

[Images from Google Images]

About Piarve (84 Articles)
Writing, sewing, reading, blogging, researching and living... I love to be inspired

4 Comments on Absent Mindedness: The Dreamers Definition

  1. I really like the quote by G.K. Chesterton

  2. I like the Jane Austen quote. I’ve felt like that.

    Visiting from the A to Z Challenge.

Your thoughts here:

