A Beautiful Little Fool

I hope she’ll [daughter] be a fool—that’s the best thing a girl can be in this world, a beautiful little fool.

The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

fool

Image taken from http://weheartit.com/

Ruling the world, being completely independent and being a warrior is everything a woman is expected to be; those are big responsibilities to handle, especially if the title must be carried at home, work and in public all the time.

Thankfully an alternative exists, one which earns more of a public approval, and a ticket to an easy life. Being pretty, ditsy and reliant on others, characteristics  discouraged by the promoters of independence, yet they carry woman on the route to acceptance.

I’m going to add my own experience here. I like intellectual conversations, something that makes me think, I like to talk about ideas or things or theories…you know life. It might be small stuff,  like five things I can do with a piece of material (could be ridiculously outrageous to something reasonable) or where I stand with feminism.

The same pattern occurs: There is a more positive reaction to the silly brainless things I might suggest rather than when I’m making some kind of logical sense (then all eyes start rolling and ears shut down).

It is not just me, the simpler or ‘stupid’ a girl appears to carry herself, the more eyes are on her and the more accepted she seems to be. Whilst a girl who looks like she has her own mind is looked past. This applies at school (the popular girls may have been smart but extra points came for being ditsy); work (if you are smart you are left in the corner to do all the work); and life (It’s easier to make conversation if you ask silly questions and complain about nails).

It seems life would be easier if I carried myself as a stupid girl, then again it would be great if I didn’t have to pretend, what’s the saying again? Ignorance is bliss.

Making the choice to be an independent woman is not easy, and following that through is another challenge, if that is the case then surely just being a beautiful fool gets you through life easily.

 

Right?

 

Quotes

“What happened to the dreams of a girl president
She’s dancing in the video next to 50 Cent
They travel in packs of two or three
With their itsy bitsy doggies and their teeny-weeny tees
Where, oh where, have the smart people gone?”

Stupid Girl, song by Pink

“I finally decided to take Nikki’s advice. It seemed that no man valued a woman like me. My attempts to be strong and straight were not only appreciated, they were unnoticed. Meanwhile, Nikki’s seemingly carefree and spontaneous attitude won thumbs up from all kinds of men. I convinced myself that I, too, could be simple like Nikki.”

No Disrespect by Memoir by Sistah Souljah

P.S. I promote intelligence all the way. If you are blessed with a brain filled with ideas and imagination, do not let your gender determine if you should use it or not.

 

 

 

About Piarve (84 Articles)
Writing, sewing, reading, blogging, researching and living... I love to be inspired

Your thoughts here:

