To reach, or not to reach?

Title: Brave New World Author: Aldous Huxley Published:  1932

When I was half way through Brave New world (personal review here), something which came to my mind was:

Is it easier to be closed minded, accept your position in society, conform to the roles for your kind and live life in this bubble of (what looks like) happiness.

OR

Open minded, feeling free to pick and choose who and what you want to be, and although there are moments of confusion where you start to doubt what is around you, you live in a place where you are in control of what you do.

 

With entrepreneurship and individuality being the new lifestyle choice and quotes and phrases encouraging us to be what we want to be, do what we want to do and live our dream (check out the ones below), being open minded and ambitious seems like the better place to be.

At the same time it can be the scariest place, when a business fails, when the community doubts your choices and your ideas do not make sense to anyone else, the ‘if only I just did what normal people do’ comes in (Whatever defines the word normal.

Personally I find myself being the one who doesn’t quite fit into the norm, I am told what I should do, the type of industry I should get into, whilst my mind is buzzing with ideas of what I want to do, seeds I want to sow. Ideas are great, and living in a world of predictable routines is comfortable. Then again nothing compares to achieving something from your natural talents.

Quotes

“A person with big dream is better than a person with all the facts”-Anonymous

“I had to make my own living and my own opportunity! But I made it! Don’t sit down and wait for the opportunities to come. Get up and make them!” – C.J. Walker

“Build your dreams, or else someone else will hire you to build theirs”- Anonymous

 

About Piarve (84 Articles)
Writing, sewing, reading, blogging, researching and living... I love to be inspired

1 Comment on To reach, or not to reach?

  1. I find that sometimes we get caught up in our dreams and fantasies of who we want to be and all the amazing ideas that we want to come to life, that we forget that it goes beyond wanting it to achieving it. The world also doesn’t quite make us realize that it is more difficult than it appears to be. I think the difference between the one who achieves his goal and the one who keeps on dreaming is tenacity and will power. I keep in beating myself up that I’m not getting the opportunities I deserve to achieve what I want to. But the truth is I’m not trying hard enough. Then again there are factors that correlate to this. You’re post has inspired me to try harder.
    Sorry for hijacking it, I haven’t written in a while but this just brought out the words in me.
    Thank you

Your thoughts here:

